Coalition for the International Criminal Court
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter
Browse by Region
map Americas Africa Asia and Pacific Europe Middle East and North Africa
African Union (AU)
Objectives: to achieve greater unity among African States; to defend states' integrity and independence; to accelerate political, social, and economic integration; to encourage international cooperation; to promote democratic principles and institutions. The AU is the biggest and the most important intergovernmental organization in the continent with the widest objectives including various issues.

Members (53): all African countries (except Morocco)
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
NGO Media Statements
Author Date and Title
19 Oct 2015
IBA urges SA to remain in the ICC IBA
International Bar Association
22 June 2015
AU needs to drop political posturing and hold to account perpetrators of atrocities, says Ellis
Institute for Security Studies
10 Mar 2015
Justice for crimes in Palestine: more questions than answers
23 Jan 2015
24th AU Summit : "AU must guarantee peace and security in Africa based on human rights and justice"
Human Rights Watch
02 Nov 2014
African Rights Groups Back Habre Court
04 Sept 2014
Call for African States to Reject Immunity for Serious Crimes
Human Rights Watch
25 Aug 2014
African States: Reject Immunity for Leaders
Quotes and Statements