Coalition for the International Criminal Court
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter
Browse by Region
map Americas Africa Asia and Pacific Europe Middle East and North Africa
The Mercado Comun del Cono Sur (MERCOSUR) was established by the Treaty of Asuncion in March 1991 but effectively entered into force on 1 January 1995. It is a customs union between Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay, although Chile, Bolivia, and Peru have become associate members and negotiations are pending with Mexico, Venezuela and Colombia for further expansion. The purpose of MERCOSUR is to eliminate trade barriers between Members States and create a common market.
Government and Inter-governmental Documents
Author Date and Title
11 Aug 2010
Comunicado Conjunto de los Estados Partes del MERCOSUR y Estados Asociados adoptada en ocasión del XXXIX Reunión del Consejo del Mercado Común en San Juan (Argentina)
20 June 2005
Presidential Declaration on the "Committment of the MERCOSUR to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court", adopted at the XXVIII Meeting of the Council in Asuncion (Paraguay)
06 Dec 2002
Joint statement of the presidents of Mercosur, and Bolivia and Chile, with reference to the fair and effective establishment of the International Criminal Court (Brasilia, Brazil)